How to Suck at Writing

Alaykka Fowler
4 min readJun 14, 2021

All right, I’m coming out clean. I am a phony. I am no longer a good writer. In fact, you don’t have any idea how many times I hit backspace on my keyboard only to have come up with this rather lame intro.

I guess that alone gives me the right credibility to write this piece. Years and hundreds of thousands of words later, it has finally come to this. I’ve lost touch with my words, and I am not in sync with my pen anymore. I can’t articulate my thoughts like I used to.

To be honest, it’s all on me. I unconsciously chose to tread the path of mastering the “suckery” of writing. That, my friends, is not even a word, but you know what I mean. Anyway, if you’re a curious soul who likes to hear or learn about how to hit rock bottom in any aspect, let me tell you how I got here (and you could, too, with these methods).

1. No longer pay attention to your pen and paper on a daily basis.

I mean, come on. Why spend time decluttering your mind or writing down spontaneously brilliant ideas that you’ve thought of while you’re in the shower when you could use those extra minutes to scroll through your social media feed more? Pen and paper will always be there, plus you’re also filling your mind with what could be “useful” information in the future.

--

--

Alaykka Fowler

Born in the Philippines. Living in France. Writing for the heck of it.