The 6 Major Reflections I Had As Life Happened

Alaykka Fowler
5 min readSep 26, 2020

It’s been a little over two years already since I arrived in France and as I have always said, so much has happened since then. Even more for these past months. I can’t even believe that I find it acceptable to write in fragments already.

Before anything else, here’s a beautiful photo of me and the Eiffel Tower one fine 2020 morning — my year 2 in France.

You know that saying “With age comes wisdom”? I think this holds true because the older I got, the more I changed perspectives and the more I was drawn to having my shit together. I don’t even like swearing that much anymore. In fact, I avoid it at all costs now, except for emphasis.

Lately, situations I have found myself in pushed me to reflect on different aspects of my life. As a result I either feel depressed, grateful, anxious, or motivated. I guess the most important thing from all these are the lessons I have learned and how I have or would use these to propel myself forward.

Without further ado, here are some knick-knacks I picked from my brain and my life experiences so far.

1. Panicking and sulking won’t bring you anything vibrant.

If it does bring you anything, it’s just more sadness and demotivation. Sure, we’re all allowed to feel upset when we experience failure or disappointment. This is absolutely a valid emotion and it’s normal. What’s not okay is actively allowing yourself…

--

--

Alaykka Fowler

Born in the Philippines. Living in France. Writing for the heck of it.